top of page

DMUGA Week 8 - Nearly there... (SF Pt.2)

This week, I continued my more relaxed approach instead of overworking myself. The outcome so far isn't to a standard I would calssify as professional, and certainly isn't to the quality of work I know that I am capable of. However, it's not the end of the world, and coming up with an FMP idea right now I think is probably more important. What I'm trying to say is that I'm trying to calm myself and just take it easy before we begin the FMP as it is the largest portion of our overall grade.

I've tried to play around with the colours in UE4 using material instances so I can change the look of the building quite dramatically but easily. The general colour scheme I've gone with is blues, pinks, purples, and 3 points of red. Now I must stress that it isn't the standard I know I can achieve, but it isn't the worst thing in the world:

Before changing the colours (Half-Textured):

After changing the colours:

I still need to think of some more things to add to 'dress it up' into even more of a sweet shop, but at least now you can look at it and see kind of what it is meant to be.

Feedback this week:

- Add more elements which visually tell me that it is a sweet shop.

I've now added some more things like the floating wrappers on the wall, the candy cane coloured poles, pictures of sweets on the banners, plus the giant red flags at the top now have the shop name on them also.

- Be sure to really fill it with pastel colours & sweet elements which emphasize the sweet aspect.

I've changed the colours around so much because I needed to see what colours worked and what didn't so I think I have it at a good enough stage for the moment. Though I do still need to add more 'sweety' elements to finish the diorama off.

FMP (Final Major Project):

Our group has had a few meetings to try and discuss some possible ideas on what we can do together, but I feel like we need to have that moment when everybody jumps up in excitement and says "That is what I want to do because X, Y & Z".

I think we came close to this when someone suggested Pompeii and simulating the volcano erruption, building falling apart from the earthquake, ash falling of the sky etc, but it is a very ambitious project (which is good!) and I think if we fail to execute it properly, it'd end up being just a rubbish simulation.

Another idea was to base the project in a historical setting, or a place on earth which would be widely recognisable, but replicating what it may look like in the next ice age. I quite like this, but it would need to be a very good choice of setting and some way of perhaps linking it to another environment where it isn't just covered in snow/ice.

There were some other ideas, but like I said we still haven't had that crucial idea that everyone can get excited about and is actually a plausable project for us to do.

Summary of this week:

It's been productive in a way, not to the standard I would have liked but this project is nearly over and then I can focus on the final write-up + FMP ideas. Fingers crossed it all works out in the end!

MY FEATURED POSTS

Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.

Any Questions or Comments? 

 

Let me know!

Success! Message received.

bottom of page