top of page

DMUGA Week 32 - Writing Rush! (FMP #19)

Weekly Summary:

I unfortunately had to force myself to stop working on the level for more than half of this week as we found out our "Post-Mortem + Hand-in" write-up had be finished for the 27th May also. I therefore had to take a few days out completely and just focus on getting things accounted for and documented in my post-mortem.

As I've got the majority of the written parts out the way, I cannot finish it fully until the level is done! I've given myself the following week until Wednesday to get the last things on my list finished, so we can build lighting on a higher quality and package the project for Thursday.

We've also been preparing for presentation things i.e. Beauty shot set-ups + Video playthrough & fly-through/trailer.

Monday - Wednesday:

I managed to squeeze in one more asset; a quick gold coin and a pile of them to place around:

I also created a better destructible mesh for Andy's wall just as Casto suggested (split into 128 bricks!), so it will break a little bit more believable (Andy gave me an idea to make it better, just hope there's time to do it).

I worked just a little bit more on some lighting inside the cave and other little tweaks. I also focused on getting a lot of my Post-Mortem submission fleshed out, ready for me to take final screenshots of and annotate. Here's a sneak preview of my claw sculpt:

As mentioned above, Dom sat down with me and we went through the following:

-Blinking eyes

-Replaced destructible mesh with my new one

-Menu UI sound

-More boat rocking

With Andy, we did try to see if we can get a better looking top to the temple, but at this late stage it doesn't look like that's going to happen so we've gone for what we have now. It is unfortunate we won't be able to get this done in time, but at least we know how we could improve that bit!

Andy spent Tuesday & Wednesday doing the written aspect/post-mortem for the deadline.

Thursday - Friday:

I spent Thursday and some of Friday on my post-mortem still because gathering old images and explaining them takes quite a while. I'll have to finish it up over the weekend ready for the final screenshots. I set up the camera spots in the engine ready for this stage, and it'll help in general to quickly switch between them.

Andy added to the courtyard:

-Protruding brick geometry to make the walls look less flat, changed some of the floor tiles to the broken ones and arranged it to look more damaged.

Andy suggested for me to make the destructible wall itself more uneven/about to collapse in the middle so it makes sense when it does collapse. He also started to re-texture the eagle statue.

Dom began assembling a test video using Adobe Premiere and his blueprint matinee tool. The tool itself can simple run through all of the shots for you whilst recording and you have your perfect rig every time!

Dom's Test Run:

Level Progress (Most of these will be the final camera angles as I've set them up so we can easily just snap the view to them):

MY FEATURED POSTS

Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.

Any Questions or Comments? 

 

Let me know!

Success! Message received.

bottom of page