top of page

DMUGA Week 31 - Simply Building (FMP #18)

Weekly Summary:

Overall another pretty good week, I made some more progress with building in the level and I feel as though it is nearly there. It only requires that little bit more before I am ready to call my job done. I should be able to do that on Monday which leaves a couple of days for me to try and fix the lighting issues with the LODs and begin to write my post-mortem. After I feel I have made good progress with that, I will then look into adding the last few sounds and small touches.

Monday - Wednesday:

I have to admit it can be fun trying to come up with new ideas for asset placement, and I purely worked on building again this week as we need it to get to a state where we could hand it in without being penalised for being technically "unfinished".

I asked Craig and Denise for any ideas to help add to the story a bit more just to make it more interesting to walk through. Craig suggested the little pathway or fake alternate route in the cave's tunnel, and Denise suggested the teeth tunnel/blood water to make it more gruesome.

I also asked Dom to make it easier for me to change the light for the torch so I could adjust it myself, I fixed the dodgy lighting issues we had with the torch (turned off the cast shadows + re-positioned), and sent off my business card design to be printed.

We aren't being marked on sounds, but I'd really like to have some in there, so I added some more and tweaked everything that Dom had already placed in there just to improve it that little bit more.

Andy was ill through this week too, but imported the pop colour flowers, boat + paddle meshes, texture the floor tiles and textured the wooden crate (looks damn good!).

Dom grabbed some people from second year (I think), and asked them to play test the level, this was purely just to see if the UI was self explanatory enough. Everyone found it fine, the only thing which they got stuck on was which items they needed to select in order to make the torch. This isn't that much of a problem, but we would prefer not to have any.

Thursday - Friday:

I continued to add to the level over the next couple of days - Lighting, set dressing etc.

Dom, Denise and I also managed to get a hold of the Oculus rift to test what we have so far and it generally worked for the most part. The thing we have to consider if we wanted to make it playable for the Oculus would be the UI/crafting system, as that would no longer work. We could easily get around this to some extent if we wanted a quick converted level for the degree show and just say it is purely to look at the visuals, not the gameplay - It's all up to Dom if he wants to do that though.

I haven't got that much more to do in the level population-wise, but there are a couple of issues that Craig said we need to try and fix, so I will be doing that after I feel satisfied with the level. One thing is a general clean-up of the editor, and light-map fixes (if it's even possible with UE4 being buggy).

Andy textured the boat, and made the final wall texture, again... Lookin' good!

Dom worked on his blogs/videos for them as he really needed to catch up on that.

Level Progress:

MY FEATURED POSTS

Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.

Any Questions or Comments? 

 

Let me know!

Success! Message received.

bottom of page