top of page

DMUGA Week 29 - Can we do it? (FMP #16)

Weekly Summary:

It felt good on Friday when I finished my last assigned asset. This week was moderate progress as my assets are now done, and I could make a start on trying to get the level to a state where it's 95% there. I do still need to make LODs for a lot of things, but I'm hoping that will only take up to 3 days, meaning that the time I've dedicated at the end for optimising, can be spent on any other pressing issues. Also, if we decide we need something to complete it, the time is there. I still have my concerns about the ending of the level, but if it gets too late I'm sure there's something we can do to save it.

The level is still unfortunately not 100% playable all the way through, but hopefully we can get there. There's not long left, so time is running out!

Monday - Wednesday:

I made the front door to the temple on Monday & Tuesday, it turned out ok but it could be much better. The high poly for this looked nice, but without geometry or a height map to support the details, it just looks flat unfortunately. If I get time at the end I'll try to get a height map again to see if the bump offset can save it.

I also did some populating and lighting tweaks in the courtyard + tunnel area - had to try and fix a problem with the reflection around the water which wasted a lot of time, but for the moment I fixed it with a compromise of getting rid of the depth feature.

The skull was the last on my list; I got to the baking stage for it on Wednesday. That day was a very big waste of time as I attempted the 3ds max test and somehow failed (as did a few people), I won't moan about why it was bad other than it is just a very buggy test rig.

Andy got the assets for the crafting finished - The torch, bamboo and bottle, plus, re-imported the walls with the correct unwrap. Andy and I also had a look at the breakable walkway and he thought of a way to make the walls more visually interesting - of which I changed on the Friday.

Dom improved the crafting menu to make it much more obvious what the player needs to do, and worked on getting the HUD to work with the controller. He also put in the climbing prompts so it's easier for the player to jump right in and get through without anyone explaining the controls.

Thursday - Friday:

I textured the skull on the Thursday, then finished it off with the candles by Friday afternoon.

I also made a couple of changes to the torch light, the courtyard lighting, populated a little, culled some meshes at a distance, and added some glow to the ashes in the campfire.

Andy on Thursday modelled, unwrapped and baked the wooden crate on Thursday, but was not in on the Friday. He also made a start on the 'pop foliage' sheet.

Dom fixed an annoying auto exposure problem the 3D widgets were causing - it was far too bright making everything else go dark. Plus, worked more to get the controller working.

He also made some fixes today (Weekend), which includes:

-Objectives

-infinite loop caused by breakable floor

-Adjusted player torch & swapped in the correct particle

Level Progress:

MY FEATURED POSTS

Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.

Any Questions or Comments? 

 

Let me know!

Success! Message received.

bottom of page